About the Smokie albums reissue
 
 

The first two albums of Smokey, much more “Pass It Around” – it's quite what had left as an inheritance of Kindness. Instrumental parts in the Chapman's hits on the second album and all the more in the songs on the third and further albums didn't sound no longer in such a way. It's an old school of British rock of the 60s. Especially the bass of Terry. His parts can be just placed on the same level with parts of the most brilliant and famous performers of that time. That's incredible! What means professional performance of another's classics along nearly ten years. Even saying that they had "got their hand in" it's impossible to express the level of that masterly performance. Besides that in the bass parts it's expressed the most strikingly, the same goes to all other instrumental parts. Beginning already from the second album you won't hear such drums as, for instance, in “Daydreamin’”. Extremely accurate and even so free and uninhibited playing with improvisations and with decoration of rhythmic pattern by real traceries. And how brilliantly rhythm guitar parts were painted, especially where they are doubled, tripled etc. But at the same time every instrument sounds absolutely individually. And solo parts of Alan simply have to be listened to...

Listen, youngsters! Listen, starting from the very first album. By this reissue you get a unique chance to touch to the very origins of the band's works. Surely, these are not that “crude” recordings of Kindness but in “Pass It Around” and partly in “Changing All The Time” one can still discern that same origins and, above all, a colossal creative potential of the musicians which afterwards had become a foundation for their many years stunning music career. And 7T's Records has given you an opportunity to listen to it all just in a delightful quality. As for those who was acquainted with that stuff before, let me give you an advice. Give yourself the trouble to get on headphones one evening – you won't regret. You will hear just thousands of a new, fresh and impressive nuances which will simply overwhelm you with new impressions of something already distant and forgotten…

However this concerns also to the next three classical albums of Chapman's era and his maximal influence. Thereby – having ensured the band's breakthrough to international success. You can hear them again. And hear in a great quality. One would think, and what we haven't heard there yet? Indeed, it have been heard already far and wide, mentally learned by heart and even hummed once to a guitar in a yard. But no, even here a good many surprises which were infused by a crystal quality of the records are waiting for us. But there are already different music accents. There is no so much virtuosity already. To be more precise, it exists but somehow it is moved a bit to the background and don't intentionally strike one's eye. It's just laid into foundation. It's just like priming on a painter's canvas. And that, by the way and to our regret, had given a reason to some dull-witted critics to rate the band as lightweight. But here is a HIT on the foreground. Here are the Chapman's hits and his sound produce. Here is a sound of acoustic guitar floating in a mid tempo, here is a background of a string orchestra, delicious cues and solos of Alan, accurate, clear and “simple” playing of the rhythm section of Terry and Pete. (Though it's not simple at all. If you don't have a sophisticated technique and can't improvise then you won't be able to play even a “simple” rhythm to metronome, curiously enough.) And here are that same voice of Chris which drove us, then teenagers, crazy and vocal harmonies which had become just unbelievably beautiful. To say shortly, everything what Smokie had “got” us by at that time. And here is also much more other interesting things. For instance, here are the songs composed by the band members themselves and their arrangements. Though they tried to write and to record their own hit as quick as possible but their songs turned out to be more distinctive than to be hits. And that only did well to these albums and to the band's reputation, and made listeners happy. In general, these three albums are again a complete feeling of holiday, beauty and youth…

Now the plot thickens. ;-) The rest three albums is quite a “grown-up” life and works. Audacious experiments, sometimes new searches, sometimes playings with fashion. But nevertheless these are the respectable works of the mature group which had accumulated a huge store of mastery and had its unique style and glorious name long before that albums. And the CDs from 7T's Records really worth to listen them in a headphones.

As it was said, the reissued albums contain tracks from the original records and songs from the singles released chronologically close to the albums. The principle of such reissue is rather clear. All right, in this case only those records were used which nowadays BMG have the rights on and in that time they were released on RAK Records. (That is the reason why the “Midnight Delight” album still remains unreissued.) But just from the fan's position wish we could have more and more. It would be great if these new editions would be supplemented also by the songs which were unreleased even in those years. For example, “Roll On Baby”, “Love Is A Riot”, “Let It Be Me”. You never know what records are still collecting dust on shelves... Of course, initiators of this edition didn't set this as an object. And even had no rights on this. But we wished it for a fullness of impressions, didn't we? ;-)

But in general, the subject of the songs which were not included into the original albums, particularly of the singles, I think, deserves a separate discussion. As it's mentioned in the booklets, the strategy of mutual cooperation was taken from the very beginning of the band's work with Chinn and Chapman. Mike Chapman writes hits for a-sides of singles and creates a distinct sound of the band. And singles b-sides are filled by songs of Smokie themselves. According to the author of the sleeves notes, the band had a total freedom for making LPs. Well, or nearly total. Usually the LPs contained a couple of mentioned zero-risk blockbusters from a-sides and also cover versions of somebody else's works. And one of the main goals for Smokie was to create their own hit for a-side. Firstly, that was a creative task as well as a vain, in the finest sense of the word. And also at that time they could solve many problems connected with their creative and financial independence. They wanted to create something their own, something great and unique. (And finally they had gained their object with the release of the single with “Mexican Girl” on a-side.)

But here I talk just about the b-sides. While the songs from a-sides were part of albums or compilations, we knew much less about the others, “dark” sides. At least in the former USSR a very few people could hear them at that time. All that stuff was picked up for a long time literally by grain. And when much later the official release with the b-sides came out it was a big event. But for some reason that record hadn't inspired... Great songs, no one “run-of-the-mill”. The works by the members of the band. Moreover, many of them were written by Alan and Terry whose composer's creativity was presented in the albums lesser than Chris and Pete's. And main thing is that these songs from the b-sides are exceptionally distinctive. In most cases they were written in quite another way than others. They were performed in quite another way. Finally, they have quite another sound. That's why it's hard to listen such a compilation as a separate disc. They are not just differ from other stuff, they strikingly differ from each other and listeners don't have the feeling of completeness of the disc. And that begins to cause discomfort at some point. In addition, these songs are absolutely uncomparable with a-sides. And seems that's why they had stayed “lost” for a long time. Moreover, I suppose, with rare exception they simply couldn't get into the albums just because of their “exceptionality”. Strangely enough... But after all, they should been released somehow. And propably there weren't any other ways for them than on b-sides.

And so, here comes the actual reissue. Excellent idea to add the songs from the singles as bonus tracks. Perfectly, as for the history, chronology, complete collection, anthology or what else. It's okay. But something is not okay again. Now, if you going to take album with bonus tracks as one unit then it doesn't “sound right” again... The reason is the same – the b-sides is a separate facet of Smokie's works. The same thing had happened to many bands but in case of Smokie it's the most pronounced.

Undoubtedly, these songs simply “have to be” in this edition, no other ways. And they are arranged absolutely right, systemically, logically and rationally, also without questions.

But for some reason I'd like to rearrange them so that the “renewed” albums could sound maybe completely…

The album “Pass It Around”. Bonus track is “Couldn’t Live”. No questions. It's even strange why this song hadn't got into the album in its time.

The album “Changing All The Time”. No questions to “Talking Her Round”. But the place for “Tis Me” is obviously on the first album.

The album “Midnight Cafe”. Bonus tracks “Train Song” and “The Loser” – are in the style of the first album. “I’ll Meet You At Midnight” fits this album “like a glove” to such an extent that it was included into some editions before. The same goes to “Living Next Door To Alice”. It suits this album perfectly. But “Miss You” and “Run To You” are much closer to the second album. The melodies here are more complicated than in Chapman's hits and that very origins still can be heard. But the sound is already the “Chapman's” and it seems that this is the basic characteristic feature of the “Changing All The Time” album.

The album “Bright Lights & Back Alleys”. All three bonuses “Now You Think You Know”, “Here Lies A Man” and “Lay Back In The Arms Of Someone” are going straight to the third album. And “Lay Back…” still from the childhood is associated somehow with the compilation “Greatest Hits” where it was the first track. The ideal place for this song could be the first track in “Midnight Cafe”. All the more the second tracks would coincide in that case... And generally speaking, after “Walk Right Back”, the most brilliant masterpiece of the “Smokie rocks” style, it's absolutely thankless to add something at all to that album.

“The Montreux Album”. Here both sides of the single from Chris and Suzi are chronologically put. It's hard to say what Smokie's album they would fit in. But definitely not to this one. Rather to the next.

The album “The Other Side Of The Road”. All four bonus songs just were born before their time. If “Cryin’”, “Did She Have To Go Away”, “You’re You” and “Maybe I Just Don’t Know” could adorn, for instance, three years later the album “Midnight Delight”, then it would simply become awesome. Though this album didn't get into this edition at all for the known reasons. There is rather offensive opinion that it was “poor”, that it was not “those” Smokie and so on. Exactly “those”! Though, of course, changed. This is quite understandable – “Midnight Delight” consists completely of the songs written by the band members. And they never wrote and arranged their own songs to the same level.

The album “Solid Ground”. A merry mosaic mixed on different music styles. And, from the music point of view, it suits everything and as much as possible. As for the sound, “Not Fade Away” is exactly on its place. “Run To Me” much better would fit the previous album. “I Wanna Kiss Your Lips” and “Look What You Doing” I'd better send somewhere to 1982. Concerning “Little Town Flirt” - ?????? It's a top of “peculiarity”. ;-)) The first idea which comes to my mind – it's the second solo album of Chris... And if suddenly the editors would like to add somewhere the song “Let It Be Me” then it would be rather to the point in “Solid Ground”.

There are no bonus tracks in the “Strangers In Paradise” album.

Of course, all written above is only a private opinion. And let it remain just idle thoughts, conjectures and wishings. The whole thing is really great as it is! And if somebody don't like some things then it's always possible for them to burn their own version “for listening in a car” ;-)

A colossal work is done for making this reissue. We all have got the opportunity to enjoy the music of the favourite band again by means of this nearly complete anthology made with such a quality, so skilfully and with so much love. Old fans can be rejoiced and superlatively satisfied with such a present. Also it's very important, let me emphasize this, for the youth. For those who only begin their acquaintance with Smokie. And not from another thousandth compilation kind of “The Best Of…” but from the first smashing chords of “Pass It Around”. No doubt, you won't stop until listening to the last song on the last album. This is made also for you!

 
 © DK67, Feb 2008
 © www.chris-norman.ru

О переиздании альбомов Smokie
 
 

Два первых альбома Smokey, и в большей степени “Pass It Around” – это именно то, что осталось в наследство от Kindness. Инструментальные партии в хитах Чэпмена со второго альбома и тем более в песнях из третьего и так далее, уже так не звучали. Это старая школа британского рока конца 60-х. Особенно бас Терри. Его партии можно просто поставить на один уровень с партиями самых ярких и известных исполнителей того времени. Просто невероятно! Вот что значит профессиональное исполнение в течение почти десятка лет чужой классики. Даже произнеся выражение “набили руку”, невозможно передать уровень того исполнительского мастерства. Притом что в басовых партиях это выражено наиболее ярко, то же самое касается и всех остальных инструментальных партий. Уже начиная со второго альбома, вы не услышите таких барабанов, как, например, в “Daydreamin’”. Исключительно чёткая, но при этом свободная и раскованная игра с импровизациями и окраской самого ритмического рисунка настоящими узорами. А как ярко прописаны партии ритм-гитар, особенно там, где они сдвоенные, строенные и т.д. Но при этом каждый инструмент звучит абсолютно индивидуально. А партии соло Алана нужно просто слушать…

Слушайте, молодёжь! Слушайте, начиная с самого первого альбома. С этим переизданием вам дана уникальная возможность прикоснуться к самым истокам творчества группы. Да, это уже не те “непричёсанные” записи Kindness, но в “Pass It Around” и частично в “Changing All The Time” ещё можно разглядеть эти самые истоки и, самое главное, колоссальный творческий потенциал музыкантов, ставший впоследствии фундаментом их многолетней ошеломительной музыкальной карьеры. И 7T's Records предоставила вам возможность всё это услышать просто в восхитительном качестве. Ну а тем, кто был знаком с этим ранее, позвольте дать совет. Не поленитесь, напяльте как-нибудь вечерком наушники – не пожалеете. Вы услышите просто тысячи новых свежих и ярких нюансов, которые просто захлестнут вас новыми впечатлениями от чего-то уже далёкого и подзабытого…

Впрочем, это относится и к следующим трём классическим альбомам Чепменовского периода и его максимального влияния. Тем самым – обеспечившим группе прорыв к мировой славе. Вы снова сможете услышать их. И услышать в великолепном качестве. Казалось бы, а что мы ещё там не слыхали? Уж вдоль и поперёк слышано-переслышано, мысленно заучено и даже когда-то промурлыкано под гитару во дворе. А ведь нет же, и тут нас ожидает немало сюрпризов, привнесенных кристальным качеством записи. Но здесь уже другие музыкальные акценты. Здесь уже нет столько виртуозности. Точнее она есть, но она как бы несколько отодвинута на второй, не на передний план, не бросается намеренно в глаза. Она просто заложена в фундамент. Она как грунт полотна художника. Что, кстати, к сожалению, дало повод некоторым недалёким критиканам отнести группу в разряд легковесных. А здесь уже на первом плане ХИТ. Здесь Чэпменовские боевики и его саунд-продюс. Здесь плывущий в среднем темпе звук акустической гитары, здесь фон скрипичного оркестра, вкуснейшие реплики и соло Алана, чёткая, понятная и “простая” игра ритм-секции Терри и Пита. (Хоть вовсе она и не простая. Тот, кто не владеет сложной техникой и не умеет импровизировать – тот, как ни странно, не сыграет и “простой” ритм под метроном). И здесь же тот самый, сводящий нас, тогдашних подростков, с ума голос Криса и вокальное многоголосие, достигшее просто запредельной красоты. В общем, всё то, чем Smokie нас и “взяли” тогда. И здесь ещё много чего другого и интересного. Например, песни авторства самих участников группы и их аранжировки. Они хоть и старались поскорее сочинить и записать свой собственный хит, но песни у них получались более самобытные, чем хитовые. И это, как раз, только шло на пользу и этим альбомам и репутации группы и радовало слушателей. В общем, эти три альбома – это снова полное ощущение праздника, красоты и молодости…

Дальше – больше ;-) Оставшиеся три альбома – это уже совсем “взрослая” жизнь и творчество. Смелые эксперименты, местами новые поиски, местами заигрывание с модой. Но, тем не менее, это достойнейшие работы зрелого коллектива, задолго до этого накопившего огромный багаж мастерства и имеющего уже свой уникальный стиль и славное имя. И диски от 7T's Records с этими альбомами действительно стоят того, чтобы прослушать их в наушниках.

Как уже было сказано, переизданные альбомы содержат номерные треки оригинальных пластинок и песни с синглов, хронологически близкие с изданием альбомов. И вполне понятен принцип переиздания. Всё правильно, речь идёт только о тех релизах, правами на которые владеет ныне BMG, а в то время издававшихся на RAK Records. (По этой же причине альбом “Midnight Delight” и вовсе остался не переизданным). Но из чисто фанатских соображений хотелось бы ещё и ещё. Как было бы здорово, если бы эти переиздания были ещё и дополнены песнями, которые не выходили даже в те годы. Например, “Roll On Baby”, “Love Is A Riot”, “Let It Be Me”. Да и мало ли их ещё пылится на полках, кто знает… Безусловно, инициаторы переиздания не ставили перед собой таких целей. И даже не имели на это прав. А вот ведь, хотелось бы. Для полноты впечатлений ;-)

А в целом, тема песен, не вошедших в номерные альбомы, в частности, синглов, заслуживает, пожалуй, отдельного разговора. Как указано в упомянутых буклетах, с самого начала сотрудничества группы с Чинном и Чэпменом, была принята стратегия взаимного сотрудничества. Майк Чэпмен пишет хиты для а-сторон синглов и создаёт фирменный саунд группы. А b-стороны синглов заполняются песнями самих Smokie. И опять же, по мнению автора буклетов, для создания долгоиграющих пластинок была предоставлена полная свобода. Ну, или почти полная. Туда, как правило, обязательно входили по паре всё тех же беспроигрышных хитов с а-сторон. А также кавер-версии чужих произведений. И, как одну из основных задач для самих себя, Smokie всегда видели создание своего собственного хита для а-стороны. В первую очередь это была задача творческая. А ещё и, в хорошем смысле этого слова, тщеславная. А ещё они могли бы тогда решить многие вопросы, связанные и с творческой, и с финансовой независимостью. Они хотели создать что-то своё, великое и неповторимое. (И они таки добились этого, выпустив сингл, где на первой стороне красовалась “Mexican Girl”).

Но речь именно о b-сайдах. Если песни с а-сайдов входили в номерные альбомы или в сборники, то о вторых, “тёмных” сторонах было известно гораздо меньше. По крайней мере, в бывшем СССР их вообще тогда мало кто слышал. Всё это в течение долгого времени собиралось буквально по крупицам. А когда, уже гораздо позже вышел официальный диск с подборкой b-сайдов, это было огромным событием. Но сам этот диск… почему-то не согрел. Прекрасные песни, ни одной “проходной”. Работы авторства самих участников группы. Более того, многие из них были написаны Аланом и Терри, чьё композиторское творчество представлено в номерных альбомах в меньшей мере, нежели произведения Криса и Пита. И главное, всё та же исключительная “самобытность” этих песен с b-сайдов. Они в своём большинстве совсем не так написаны как всё остальное. Они не так исполнены. У них совсем иной саунд, в конце концов. Вот почему трудно слушать их сборник в качестве отдельного альбома. Они не просто отличаются от всего остального, они разительно отличаются друг от друга и у слушателя не возникает ощущения целостности альбома. А это в какой-то момент начинает вызывать дискомфорт. Кроме того, эти песни совершенно не сопоставимы с а-сторонами. И, видимо, поэтому очень долгое время оставались “забытыми” в тени. Более того, создаётся впечатление, что они за редким исключением просто не могли, в силу своей той самой “исключительности”, попасть ни в один из номерных альбомов. Такие странные дела… Но как то же надо было их издавать. И других вариантов, кроме b-сайдов, видимо, не находилось.

И вот появляется нынешнее переиздание. Отличная идея добавить песни с синглов в качестве бонусов. Для истории, хронологии, полноты коллекции, антологии и чего угодно ещё. Всё так. Но что-то снова не так. Теперь, если принять номерной альбом вместе с бонусами за единое целое, то он почему-то тоже “не звучит”… Всё по той же причине – b-сайды это отдельно стоящая грань творчества Smokie. Так было у многих. Но у них наиболее ярко выражено.

Безусловно, в данном релизе эти песни просто “обязаны” были быть. Никуда не деться. И “расставлены” они абсолютно правильно, системно, логично и рационально. Тоже без вариантов.

Но почему-то очень хочется некоторые из них взять, и разместить по-другому. Чтобы “обновлённые” альбомы зазвучали целиком, что ли…

Альбом “Pass It Around”. Бонус “Couldn’t Live”. Вопросов нет. Даже странно, почему эта песня туда не вошла в своё время.

Альбом “Changing All The Time”. К “Talking Her Round” вопросов нет. А вот для “Tis Me” место явно на первой пластинке.

Альбом “Midnight Cafe”. Бонусы “Train Song” и “The Loser” – это явно стиль первого альбома. “I’ll Meet You At Midnight” на месте как влитая. До такой степени, что в некоторых изданиях она там и есть. То же самое и насчёт “Living Next Door To Alice”. Этому альбому она “подходит” абсолютно. А вот “Miss You” и “Run To You” скорее ближе второму альбому. Мелодии посложнее будут, чем в хитах Чэпмена, ещё слышны те самые истоки. Но саунд уже “чэпменовский”. Это, кажется, и является основной характерной чертой альбома “Changing All The Time”.

Альбом “Bright Lights & Back Alleys”. Все три бонуса “Now You Think You Know”, “Here Lies A Man” и “Lay Back In The Arms Of Someone” – прямым ходом в третий альбом. А “Lay Back…” как-то ещё с детства ассоциируется со сборником “Greatest Hits”, где она была первым треком. Идеальным местом для неё мог бы быть первый номер и в “Midnight Cafe”. Тем более, что и вторые номера тогда бы совпали… И вообще, после “Walk Right Back” – самого яркого шедевра в стиле “Smokie rocks” – совершенно неблагодарно дописывать в альбом что-либо вообще.

Альбом “The Montreux Album”. Сюда хронологически размещены обе стороны с сингла Криса и Сюзи. Затруднительно сказать, в какой из альбомов “Smokie” они бы “вписались”. Но уж точно не в этот. Скорее, в следующий.

Альбом “The Other Side Of The Road”. Все четыре бонуса просто опередили своё время. Если бы “Cryin’”, “Did She Have To Go Away”, “You’re You” и “Maybe I Just Don’t Know” смогли бы украсить через три года, к примеру, альбом “Midnight Delight”, он бы просто засверкал. Хотя, по известным причинам, в это переиздание он и вовсе не вошёл. А то ведь бытует очень обидное мнение, что он “неудачен”, “слабоват”, что это уже “не те” Smokie и пр. Именно “те”! Хотя и изменившиеся. Так это и понятно – “Midnight Delight” состоит полностью из песен самих участников группы. А они никогда не писали и не аранжировали свои собственные песни под одну гребёнку.

Альбом “Solid Ground”. Весёлая мозаика, замешанная на разных музыкальных направлениях. И с музыкальной точки зрения, сюда подошло бы всё, что угодно, и побольше. А в плане саунда – “Not Fade Away” – точно на месте. “Run To Me” лучше вписалась бы в предыдущий альбом. “I Wanna Kiss Your Lips” и “Look What You Doing” куда-нибудь в 1982 год. Что касается “Little Town Flirt” - ?????? Вершина “самобытности”. ;-)) Первое, что приходит в голову – это второй сольный альбом Криса… А если бы вдруг составители захотели бы куда-нибудь добавить песню “Let It Be Me”, то в альбоме “Solid Ground” она оказалась бы весьма кстати.

В альбоме “Strangers In Paradise” бонус-треков нет.

Безусловно, всё сказанное является частным мнением. И пусть просто останется досужими размышлениями, домыслами, пожеланиями и т.д. Всё и так очень здорово! И если что-то кому-то “не нравится”, то всегда можно нарезать себе “свой” вариант для “прослушивания в авто” ;-)

Проделана колоссальная работа по составлению данного переиздания. Мы все получили возможность снова насладиться музыкой любимой группы посредством этой почти полной их антологии, сделанной столь качественно, искусно и с такой любовью. Таким подарком старые поклонники могут быть обрадованы и удовлетворены в высшей степени. Также это не менее важно – и пусть это будет подчёркнуто – для молодёжи. Для тех, кто только начинает знакомство со Smokie. И не с очередной тысячной пиратской подборки типа “The Best Of…”, а с первых убойных аккордов “Pass It Around”. Не сомневайтесь, вы не остановитесь, пока не дослушаете последнюю песню с последнего альбома. Это сделано и для вас тоже!

 
 © DK67, февраль 2008
 © www.chris-norman.ru